Across the divide…

tumblr_mxch1zQRVN1s48lo7o1_500 (1)

This image shows trekkers following the footsteps of Sir Edmund Hilary and Tenzing Norgay to the base camp of Everest.

A wider view

Everest First Ascent – Sir Edmund Hillary’s Iconic Photo Of Tenzing Norgay On Everest Summit May 29 1953 can be found here.

Hillary: “I had carried my camera, loaded with colour film, inside my shirt to keep it warm, so I now produced it and got Tenzing to pose for me on the top, waving his ice-axe on which was a string of flags—British, Nepalese, United Nations, and Indian. Then I turned my attention to the great stretch of country lying below us.”

First Account of Ascent of Everest by Jan Morris

Leave a Reply

