Café ‘Aux Tours de Notre Dame’

Two of my loves in one painting – France and boats. Beautiful!

I had to look this cafe up on google maps’ street view to find out its name as despite taking a lot of photographs here, I didn’t take any that included its name. It’s located on the corner of Notre-Dame, (and is visible, from it’s red awnings, on my recent Notre-Dame efforts). Sadly the light was really grey and flat but I was still keen to do some sketches based on the photos. I think there’s something inimitably French about the white shirts and black waistcoats of the waiters and the red awnings that characterise so many of the cafes in France.

I didn’t have much time to spend on painting this week so this is a bit of a rough and ready sketch and, despite its obvious heavy handedness, I still think there are some pleasing elements to it. I was mainly trying to focus on the people, and…

View original post 351 more words

Leave a Reply

